The Lerwick Shetland pony show and sale took place at Staneyhill on Thursday 7th and Friday 8th October 2010.

The foal show on Thursday evening, judged by Mr Ian Spence, Duffton, Aberdeenshire, saw the champion colt award go to Mr Edward Watt, Kintore with his standard black “Elengata Ted”. Mr. Spence went on to purchase the colt for 5gns. Champion filly was the miniature chestnut “Inge of North Booth” exhibited by Mr A R Priest, Haroldswick, Unst, which sold for 200gns to Miss PJJ Gear, Foula.

Part of the annual show is the competition for the Stranduff Rosebowl and Irvine Cup awarded respectively, to the filly foal and colt foal, judged best from the 1st prize winning foals from Shetland’s five district summer shows. This year the Stranduff Rosebowl was awarded to June Brown’s piebald filly “Shoormal Vaerdi” by Urban of Knowe. The Irvine Cup winner was Steve Rendall’s piebald colt “Hollydell Highbury” by Harviestoun Demitri. The sires of both these foals have been successful in the Pony Breeders of Shetland Voluntary Stallion Evaluation Scheme, each attaining a silver award.

Friday’s sale saw fairly disappointing poor prices on the whole and some ponies, mainly colt foals, passed through the ring without receiving any bids. There were perhaps not the quantity of buyers in attendance as in previous years, however some regular attendees from mainland UK had thankfully made the journey north to purchase some island ponies. A good proportion of the ponies were also purchased locally.

Top price at the sale was 500gns and went to Miss IDJ Sandison for her piebald filly foal, "Nadia of Houlland".

The complete list of prize-winners and the prices realised, if sold, were as follows:

Standard Black Filly Foals

1stHildasay RoisinMrs. M. A. Isbister, TrondraNot Sold
2ndHildasay RoisinMrs. M. A. Isbister, TrondraNot Sold

Standard Black Filly Foals

1stElengata TedMr. Edward Watt, Kintore50gns
2ndHildasay RasmieMrs. M. A. Isbister, TrondraNot Sold

Standard Other Filly Foals

1stLoanin AnnabelleMrs. J. I. Roberts, UnstNot Sold
2ndBurnside Dixie ChickMr. D. H. Johnson, Unst

Not Sold

3rdGerratoun GuinevereMr. A. Clark, UnstNot Sold

Broken Coloured Filly Foals

1stRamnaberg LindaMiss C. Fullerton, Scalloway190gns
2ndBenstonholm PeppaMrs. A. Hunter, Vementry90gn
3rdBenstonholm PrimroseMrs. A. Hunter, Vementry140gns

Broken Coloured Colt Foals

1stMoorens AndyMr. D. H. Johnson, UnstNot Sold
2ndNorhharrier PrideMiss P. J. J. Gear, FoulaNot Sold
3rdFeidaland DanMr. D. Murray, North RoeNot Sold

Miniature Filly Foals

1stInge of North BoothMr. A. R. Priest, Unst200gns
2ndGue LuckyMrs. C. Laignel, DunrossnessNot Sold
3rdRobin's Brae OrchidMrs. L. J. Burgess, Dunrossnes110gns

Miniature Colt Foal

1stInnis of North BoothMr. A. R. Priest, UnstNot Sold
2ndBenstonholm PioneerMrs. A. Hunter, Vementry10gns
3rdBenstonholm PercyMrs. A. Hunter, VementryNot Sold

Champion Foals

Champion Filly FoalInge of North Booth - Mr. A. R. Priest, Haroldswick, Unst
Champion Colt FoalElengeta Ted - Mr. Edward Watt, Aberdeenshire

Trophy Winners

Milne Cup (Best foal from Unst)Inge of North BoothMr. A. R. Priest
Kiora Shield (Best Bay Filly foal from Unst)Gerratoun GuinevereMr. A. Clark
Kiora Shield (Best foal from outwith Unst)Elengata TedMr. E. Watt
Irvine Cup (Best colt foal from all Shetland shows in 2010)Hollydell Highbury (Viking Show)Mr. Steven Rendall
Stranduff Trophy (Best filly foal from all Shetland shows in 2010)Shoormal Vaerdi (Cunningsburgh & Viking Shows)June Brown

Leading Prices

Nadia of HoullandPiebald Filly Foal500gnsMiss I. D. J. Sandison
Loanin EsterCream/Sk Filly Foal480gns

Mrs. J I. Roberts

Vallendale GoldiePalomino/Sk Filly Foal530gnsMr. G. W. Sharp
Hildasay LingPiebald Mare300gnsMiss Shona Johnson
Vallendale DarkieBlack Male300gnsMr. G. W. Sharp
Ola of NordaalSkewbald Filly Foal230gnsMr. W. G. Henderson
Braebister DaisySkewbald Filly Foal220gns

Miss Mary Walterson

Friester GemimaChestnut Yearling Filly200gnsMrs. V. Stevenson
Vallendale DosieBlack Yearling Filly200gnsMr. G. W. Sharp
Norma of HoullandBlack Filly Foal200gnsMiss I. D. J. Sandison